Send your nominations for Smart Growth America's second annual 2012 Leadership Award

Nominations are now being accepted for Smart Growth America’s Leadership Institute second annual Leadership Award. This is a great opportunity to recognize elected officials in your area who have championed smart growth and sustainable development policies.

Smart Growth America’s Leadership Institute’s Award for Outstanding Leadership is bestowed annually on an elected official that has shown exceptional leadership in smart growth policy development or implementation. Last year, North Carolina State Senator Floyd B. McKissick and Representative Jennifer Weiss received the award for their outstanding leadership in smart growth policy making that will make North Carolina neighborhoods even greater places to live. Their efforts helped create the innovative Sustainable Communities Task Force, which created $250,000 in task force grants for regional sustainable development partnerships.

Submission guidelines
The Leadership Institute will be accepting nominations from Smart Growth America coalition members until September 1, 2011.

Click here to download the full submission guidelines (PDF)

Click here to submit your nomination online >>

For further details please contact Shelly Hazle, Program Manager, Smart Growth America at 202-207-3355 x120 or shazle [at] smartgrowthamerica [dot] org.